Headerimage

Operations & IT Architecture

Payments systems and modern system architecture are not mutually exclusive.

Secure and efficient payments systems are of crucial importance for a functioning financial system. Steadily growing requirements due to new technological standards, increasing regulatory demands and progressive transition from pure batch processing to real-time processing are constantly adding to the complexity of the systems and system landscapes. When setting up new payments systems and integrating new functions into existing system landscapes, special attention should therefore be paid to a modern and efficient system architecture. The architecture is also the basis for efficient and uninterrupted payments according to the operational excellence approach.

The architectural challenges of payments systems in a transformation process are manifold:

  • The integration of new business functions into existing monolithic systems involves enormous complexity risks. A (step-by-step) modularisation based on functionally defined system boundaries can reduce project risks in a targeted manner.
  • In distributed systems, the interfaces between the individual systems are constantly gaining importance. Through a consistent definition of business APIs and by following a strict API first approach, the system boundaries can be defined precisely as early as in the conception phase and responsibilities can be allocated clearly.
  • Particularly the special requirements of real-time systems in terms of stability, scalability, performance and continuous availability require the definition of clear architectural guidelines.

In our Enterprise Payment Architecture Team, we combine extensive experience in concept creation and implementation of complex system architectures optimised for our customers with in-depth knowledge of processes and standards for classic payments, card-based payments and current e-commerce payment methods. We look back on a large number of successful projects, be it in the integration of our payments products into existing system landscapes, the migration of complete payments systems, the connection of authorisation systems for modern payment procedures and card payments or the modularisation of monolithic transaction-processing systems.
We are happy to support you:

  • In integrating new payments systems into your existing system landscape
  • In adapting your systems to new business requirements
  • In a targeted modernisation of your payments system architecture and the related processes

No chance for stagnation: operational excellence

Stagnation equals regression – if you want to stay successful and competitive, you should continuously review your business. This includes the coordination of all processes and the optimisation of the involved systems. Especially in the area of bulk payments a lot of factors can help you to reach and control operational excellence.

Read more

Taking the direct route: Straight Through Processing

Changes in the media format take up valuable time and resources and make processes more susceptible to errors. These errors by financial institutions and companies are no longer acceptable in an increasingly faster finance world. To reduce the number of media breaks, financial institutions focus increasingly on Straight Through Processing (STP).

Read more

New possibilities with a new provider?

After the implementation of the PSD2 specifications, the world of payments is undergoing a transformation and preparing for upcoming challenges. In the platform and provider market, the change is clearly noticeable.

read more

Guidelines for payment operations

Due to political, technical and business developments – especially as part of the digitisation – the number of regulations is steadily increasing. Furthermore, existing regulations are continuously adapted, extended or revised. PPI helps you to stay on top of things.

Read more

M2M payments are coming – it's high time to prepare

Machine-to-machine payments are one of the most pressing future topics for financial service providers. In the study "Internet of Payments", PPI AG has analysed challenges, opportunities and risks of this new type of payments from the perspective of payment service providers. This is the first Europe-wide detailed study on the subject of payments in the Internet of Things.

Read more

Contacts

Michael Rohde

Contact

Michael Rohde
Manager

+49 151 12678925
Michael.Rohde(at)ppi.de

Eric Waller

Contact

Eric Waller
Manager

+49 160 97932712
Eric.Waller(at)ppi.de

Further information to download

Headerimage
IT-Architektur, IT Architecture, Enterprise Architecture, Enterprise Payment Architecture

Operations & IT Architecture

Zahlungsverkehrssysteme und moderne Systemarchitektur widersprechen sich nicht!

Sichere und effiziente Zahlungsverkehrssysteme sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für ein funktionierendes Finanzsystem. Stetig steigende Anforderungen durch neue technologische Standards, wachsende regulatorische Anforderungen und den fortschreitenden Wandel von der reinen Batch- hin zur Echtzeitverarbeitung erhöhen zunehmend die Komplexität der Systeme bzw. Systemlandschaften. Beim Aufbau neuer Zahlungsverkehrssysteme und der Integration neuer Funktionen in bestehende Systemlandschaften sollte daher besonderes Augenmerk auf eine moderne und effiziente Systemarchitektur gerichtet werden. Diese bildet gleichzeitig die Basis für effiziente und durchgängige Zahlungsverkehrsprozesse nach dem Operational-Excellence-Ansatz.

Die Herausforderungen an die Architektur von Zahlungsverkehrssystemen im Transformationsprozess sind vielfältig:

  • Die Integration neuer fachlicher Funktionen in bestehende monolithische Systeme birgt enorme Komplexitätsrisiken. Hier kann eine (schrittweise) Modularisierung anhand fachlich definierter Systemgrenzen Projektrisiken gezielt verringern.
  • In verteilten Systemen kommt den Schnittstellen zwischen den einzelnen Systemen eine immer größere Bedeutung zu. Durch konsequente Definition fachlicher APIs und Verfolgung eines strikten API-First-Ansatzes lassen sich Systemgrenzen schon in der Konzeptionsphase sauber definieren und Verantwortlichkeiten klar abgrenzen.
  • Und nicht zuletzt die besonderen Anforderungen von Echtzeitsystemen in Bezug auf Stabilität, Skalierbarkeit, Performance und durchgängige Verfügbarkeit erfordern die Definition von klaren architekturellen Leitplanken.

In unserem Enterprise Payment Architecture Team verfügen wir sowohl über weitreichende Erfahrungen in Konzeption und Umsetzung komplexer, auf die Bedürfnisse unsere Kunden zugeschnittener Systemarchitekturen, als auch über detaillierte Kenntnisse in Bezug auf Prozesse und Standards des klassischen Zahlungsverkehrs, des kartengestützten Zahlungsverkehrs und aktueller eCommerce-Bezahlverfahren. Hierbei können wir auf eine Vielzahl erfolgreicher Projekte zurückblicken, ob bei der Integration unserer Payment-Produkte in bestehende Systemlandschaften, der Migration kompletter Zahlungsverkehrssysteme, der Anbindung von Autorisierungssystemen für moderne Bezahlverfahren und Kartenzahlungen oder der Modularisierung monolithischer transaktionsverarbeitender Systeme.
Gerne unterstützen wir Sie:

  • bei der Integration neuer Zahlungsverkehrssysteme in Ihre bestehende Systemlandschaft
  • bei der Erweiterung Ihrer Systeme um neue fachliche Anforderungen und
  • bei der zielgerichteten Modernisierung der Architektur Ihrer bestehenden Zahlungsverkehrssysteme und der damit ausgeführten Prozesse.

Keine Chance der Stagnation: Operational Excellence

Stillstand ist Rückschritt – wer erfolgreich und wettbewerbsfähig bleiben will, sollte sein Geschäft ständig überprüfen. Dazu gehört die kontinuierliche Abstimmung aller Prozesse sowie die Optimierung der beteiligten Systeme. Gerade im Bereich des Massenzahlungsverkehrs gibt es viele Ansatzpunkte, um Operational Excellence zu erreichen und zu steuern.

Weiterlesen

Der direkte Weg zum Ziel: Straight Through Processing

Medienbrüche kosten wertvolle Zeit und Ressourcen – und sie machen Prozesse anfällig für Fehler. Fehler, die sich Banken und Unternehmen in der immer schneller getakteten Finanzwelt nicht mehr erlauben wollen. Um die Zahl der Medienbrüche zu verringern, setzen Banken verstärkt auf Straight Through Processing (STP).

Weiterlesen

Mit neuem Anbieter zu neuen Möglichkeiten?

Im Nachgang zur Umsetzung der PSD2-Vorgaben ist die Welt des Zahlungsverkehrs im Umbruch begriffen und bereitet sich auf kommende Herausforderungen vor. Auf dem Markt der Plattformen und Provider ist die Veränderung deutlich spürbar.

Weiterlesen

Richtlinien regeln den Zahlungsverkehr

Aufgrund politischer, technischer und geschäftlicher Entwicklungen – vor allem im Rahmen der Digitalisierung – nimmt die Zahl an Vorschriften stetig zu. Auch bestehende Regularien werden kontinuierlich angepasst, erweitert oder überarbeitet. PPI behält für Sie den Überblick.

Weiterlesen

M2M-Payments kommen – höchste Zeit zur Vorbereitung

Es ist eines der dringlichsten Zukunftsthemen für Finanzdienstleister: Machine-to-Machine (M2M)-Payments. Herausforderungen, Chancen und Risiken dieser neuen Art des Zahlungsverkehrs hat die PPI AG in der aktuellen Studie „Internet of Payments“ aus Perspektive der Zahlungsdienstanbieter analysiert. Damit liegt europaweit erstmals eine detaillierte Untersuchung zum Thema Zahlungsverkehr im Internet of Things vor.

Weiterlesen

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Michael Rohde

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Michael Rohde
Manager

+49 151 12678925
Michael.Rohde(at)ppi.de

Eric Waller

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Eric Waller
Manager

+49 160 97932712
Eric.Waller(at)ppi.de