Headerimage

Request to Pay (RTP)

Versatile, user-friendly, digital: the standard for electronic payment requests

Request to Pay bridges the gap between invoicing and payment: with the new European standard, completely digital payment processes without media discontinuities can become a reality. On the 15th of June the first set of corresponding rules will come into force.

By mid-2021 the first set of corresponding rules will come into force with the SEPA Request to Pay Scheme Rulebook that can be used for pan-European payment requests. And this set of rules has the potential to change the European payments market in the long term. Request to Pay (RTP) is not just another procedure or format, but a method that allows many payment processes to be made leaner, more efficient and more user-friendly. Not least in combination with SEPA instant payments a number of new application scenarios arise, for example in retail payments directly at the point of sale, or in the area of digital transfers between private individuals, so-called peer-to-peer payments (P2P). That way, the need for cash becomes obsolete and the funds are still transferred to the right place in just a few seconds.

Simple basic principle

The invoicing party sends a digital payment request to the payer, which contains all the necessary data in the corresponding standardised format. The payer can transfer this data to his banking application with one click, so that the transfer then only needs to be authorised. The payment recipient can agree with their financial institution to receive a notification immediately upon acceptance of the RTP or upon receipt of funds.

Both sides benefit

The entire payment process will therefore be quicker, simpler and less prone to error. The good thing about this for companies is that consistent digital invoicing processes reduce costs. Depending on the number of invoices, sums in the millions quickly add up. Small and medium-sized enterprises – until now more or less excluded from the few existing e-billing systems due to the costs – get the chance to benefit from the digital transformation in accounting. But there are also many advantages for the consumer: annoying transfer errors are eliminated, transparency increases due to the approval of each individual payment, and in the future, further payment procedures will be available.

Best market opportunities

There are still no established RTP solutions or big players. Financial institutions and financial service providers should quickly make a fundamental decision about adding RTP services to their portfolios to fill this gap. The integration of an appropriate future-oriented solution can bring visible success in terms of own market position and customer loyalty in a timely manner. Target-group-focused RTP solutions can give financial institutions a noticeable advantage in the competition with FinTechs.

Success story EBA RTP survey

Joint survey with the EBA on new RTP payment standard

The procedure Request to Pay is ready to start from a technical point of view. A joint investigation by the European Banking Authority (EBA) and PPI AG reflects the views of European financial players on the new payment method.

Read more

Whitepaper Request to Pay (part 1)

Request to Pay (RTP) provides more potential for financial institutions in the e-billing market

With RTP invoice recipients can pay the receivable with just a single click. In combination with e-billing completely electronic invoicing and payment processes are possible. Financial service providers can benefit from these changes. You can read about the available options in the whitepaper "Request to Pay completes the electronic payments process".

Read more

Whitepaper Request to Pay (part 2)

Request to Pay – more changes in payments?

The future European standard for electronic payment requests has the potential to significantly change payments in Europe. This is illustrated in PPI AG's latest whitepaper "Request to Pay and its versatile applications".

Read more

Whitepaper Request to Pay (part 3)

Request to Pay – how theory becomes successful practice

On 15 June 2021, SEPA Request to Pay (SRTP) will be launched, paving the way for banking products and banking services around the new European standard for electronic payment requests. So far, however, financial institutions have reacted rather cautiously, although there is no reason to wait. This is what is shown in the new whitepaper "How Request to Pay becomes a success story for financial service providers" by PPI AG.

Read more

Contacts

Eric Waller

Contact

Eric Waller
Manager

+49 160 97932712
Eric.Waller(at)ppi.de

Anuschka Clasen

Contact

Anuschka Clasen
Managing Consultant

+49 175 7878208
Anuschka.Clasen(at)ppi.de

Download more information

Headerimage
Request to Pay, RTP, Rechnungsstellung, SEPA, SEPA Request to Pay Scheme Rulebook, Peer-to-Peer Payments, P2P, Consulting

Request to Pay (RTP)

Vielseitig, nutzerfreundlich, digital: der Standard für elektronische Zahlungsanforderungen

Request to Pay schlägt die Brücke zwischen Rechnungsstellung und -zahlung: Mit dem neuen europäischen Standard können vollständig medienbruchfreie, digitale Zahlungsverkehrsprozesse Wirklichkeit werden. Am 15. Juni 2021 tritt das erste Regelwerk dazu in Kraft.

Ab Mitte 2021 tritt mit dem SEPA Request to Pay Scheme Rulebook, das erste Regelwerk in Kraft, das für paneuropäische Zahlungsanforderungen genutzt werden kann. Und dieses Regelwerk hat das Potential, den europäischen Zahlungsverkehrsmarkt nachhaltig zu verändern. Denn es handelt sich mit Request to Pay (RTP) nicht nur um ein weiteres Verfahren oder Format, sondern es lassen sich viele Zahlungsprozesse schlanker, effizienter und nutzerfreundlicher gestalten. Nicht zuletzt in Kombination mit SEPA Instant Payments ergibt sich eine Reihe neuer Anwendungsszenarien, beispielsweise im Einzelhandel direkt am Point of Sale, oder aber im Bereich digitaler Überweisungen zwischen Privatpersonen, sogenannten Peer-to-Peer Payments (P2P). Das Hantieren mit Bargeld entfällt auf diese Weise und trotzdem ist der Betrag in wenigen Sekunden an die richtige Stelle transferiert.

Simples Grundprinzip

Der Rechnungssteller sendet eine digitale Zahlungsanforderung an den Zahlungspflichtigen, die alle nötigen Daten im entsprechend standardisierten Format enthält. Diese lassen sich vom Zahler mit einem Klick in seine Banking-Anwendung übernehmen, sodass er den Transfer anschließend nur noch autorisieren muss. Der Zahlungsempfänger kann mit seiner Bank vereinbaren, unmittelbar bei Annahme des RTP oder bei Geldeingang eine Benachrichtigung zu erhalten.

Beide Seiten profitieren

Der gesamte Zahlungsprozess wird also zügiger, einfacher und weniger fehleranfällig. Das Gute dabei für Unternehmen: Durchgängig digitale Rechnungsprozesse sparen bares Geld, je nach Rechnungsanzahl kommen hier schnell Millionensummen zusammen. Und kleine und mittlere Unternehmen – bisher durch prohibitive Kosten von den wenigen vorhandenen eBilling-Systemen mehr oder weniger ausgeschlossen – bekommen die Chance, von der digitalen Transformation im Rechnungswesen zu profitieren. Aber auch dem Verbraucher bieten sich viele Vorteile: Ärgerliche Übertragungsfehler entfallen, die Transparenz steigt durch die Freigabe jeder einzelnen Zahlung und zukünftig sollen weitere Zahlungsverfahren zur Verfügung stehen.

Beste Marktchancen

Noch gibt es keine etablierten RTP-Lösungen oder Big Player. Banken und Finanzdienstleister sollten dringend eine Grundsatzentscheidung über die Erweiterung ihres Portfolios um RTP-Services treffen, damit sie diese Lücke füllen können. Die Integration einer entsprechenden zukunftsorientierten Lösung kann zeitnah sichtbare Erfolge in Bezug auf die eigene Marktposition und die Kundenbindung bringen. Zielgruppenfokussierte RTP-Lösungen können Banken im Wettbewerb mit FinTechs einen spürbaren Vorsprung verschaffen.

Success Story EBA RTP Survey

Gemeinsamer Survey mit der EBA zum neuen RTP-Zahlungsstandard

Das Request-to-Pay-Verfahren steht technisch in den Startlöchern. Eine gemeinsame Untersuchung der Euro Banking Association (EBA) mit der PPI AG gibt die Einschätzungen der europäischen Finanzakteure zum neuen Bezahlverfahren wieder.

Weiterlesen

Whitepaper Request to Pay (Teil 1)

Request to Pay (RTP) erschließt Banken mehr Potenzial im eBilling-Markt

Mit RTP können Rechnungsempfänger die Forderung mit einem einzigen Mausklick begleichen. In Kombination mit eBilling sind komplett elektronische Rechnungs- und Zahlungsprozesse möglich. Finanzdienstleister können von diesen Veränderungen profitieren. Welche Optionen sich ergeben, lesen Sie im Whitepaper „Request to Pay komplettiert den elektronischen Zahlungsverkehr“.

Weiterlesen

Whitepaper Request to Pay (Teil 2)

Request to Pay – mehr Bewegung im Zahlungsverkehr?

Der künftige europäische Standard für eine elektronische Zahlungsanforderung kann den europäischen Zahlungsverkehr maßgeblich verändern. Das zeigt das aktuelle Whitepaper „Request to Pay – Vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten“ der PPI AG.

Weiterlesen

Schulungen

Individuell für Sie zusammengestellt

Steigende Komplexität, kundenorientierte Lösungen von FinTechs und eine zunehmende Marktkonkurrenz erhöhen den Bedarf an fachkundigem Personal. Unsere Zahlungsverkehrsseminare und Individualtrainings richten sich an Mitarbeiter aus den Geschäftsbereichen Zahlungsverkehr, Organisation, Revision und IT, an Kundenbetreuer im Privat- und Firmenkundengeschäft sowie an Fach- und Führungskräfte.

Weiterlesen

Ihre Ansprechpartner

Eric Waller

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Eric Waller
Manager

+49 160 97932712
Eric.Waller(at)ppi.de

Anuschka Clasen

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Anuschka Clasen
Managing Consultant

+49 175 7878208
Anuschka.Clasen(at)ppi.de

Weitere Infos zum Download